Lok Sabha Elections

Parliamentary Elections are held in India every 5 years unless a Govt falls mid-term due to lack of majority. The next big elections are scheduled for 2019.

Learn More

Election Results

We aim to bring to you detailed analysis, election maps, results and candidate info for every single constituency in India.

Learn More

Assembly Elections

Every state in India undertakes a State level election every 5 years to choose a Govt for the State Assembly.

Learn More

India Elections 2019

India is gearing towards 2019 Parliamentary Elections which will decide the fate of our country as we move forward. With BJP surging ahead and the Opposition lying in a total dis-array, the 2019 polls have gained a significant importance.

The 15th Lok Sabha elections held in 2014 were BIG in several respects:

  1. Although BJP fought as NDA, they secured majority of their own, bringing to a halt the era of coalition politics.
  2. It is the highest majority Govt since 1984.
  3. BJP won 282 seats winning them a clear majority alone, a first since 1984.
  4. It was the worst defeat for Congress ever, managing to win just 44 seats.
  5. There’s no official opposition party in the 15th Lok Sabha as no party got the required number of seats (54).

Narendra Modi has emerged stronger after the 2014 elections and his poplarity continues to grow. State after state has voted BJP to power and the opposition stands a divided lot. There are chances that Opposition will rally together to take on Modi as a single unit but we all have seen the 1990’s drama when such a coalition always failed to last a full term.

Major Coalitions for 2019 Elections

For decades after Independence, India has seen Congress as the pivot and all other parties rotating around it. Their were coalitions which came to power in between but nothing seriously challenged the supremacy of Congress till 2014. In 2014, Congress returned with its worst ever performance of just 44 seats that was not even enough to give it the Leader of the Opposition status. BJP, riding on the Narendra Modi wave, got a whopping 282 seats.

In light of the Modi onslaught, it became imperative for political parties to re-allign. Smaller parties like AAP, which came in lime light talking about corruption in Congress suddenly changed tracks and went after Modi and BJP.  Trinamool Chief Mamata Banerjee suddenly had new found love for Congress, CPI and Congress may be enemies in Kerala but that did not stop them from being friends in Bengal. Bihar CM Nitish Kumar hugged his long term foe Lalu Prasad Yadav to fight BJP.

However, the biggest irony going towards 2019 elections is that Congress is no longer the majority partner of these coalitions. In Bihar Assembly elections 2016, Congress got the least number of seats to fight in a coalition of RJD, JD(U) and Congress. Same happened in UP when Congress entered in a coalition with SP.



This is the coalition led by Congress. The United Progressive Alliance or UPA came to power after 2004 Lok Sabha Elections and ruled for the next decade. However, it is now just a shadow of what it used to be. Major parties like BSP, TMC, TRS, CPI, JMM and RJD have all left it on one pretext or the other. 
Currently there’s just 10 parties which constitute UPA. Off these 10 parties 6 have no seats in Lok Sabha, UPA’s currently tally being just 49 seats in Lok Sabha and 65 seats in Rajya Sabha. For the 2019 elections, their only hope would be that Congress gains enough seat to have some chance of forming an alliance with the Third Front or the Third Coalition which comes up against Modi.
UPA is also undergoing a leadership crisis. Sonia Gandhi now mostly remains in shadows with all focus being diverted towards Rahul Gandhi. In 2013, Rahul Gandhi wasa made the Vice President of Congress party but that does not seem to have helped the party at all. In all, Mr. Gandhi has lost 27 elections whose campaigning has been spearheaded by him. That in itself paints a gloomy picture for UPA.


National Democratic Alliance or NDA won the 2014 Elections with a clear majority and ever since has been riding high on the Modi wave. BJP, the biggest partner in the alliance, got a majority on its own in 2014 but they honoured the pre-poll agreements and formed a Govt of NDA.
NDA is currently 46 parties strong although more than half of them have no seats in Rajya Sabha or Lok Sabha. The major allinace partners for BJP are Shiv Sena, TDP, LJP and SAD. They have a combined strength of 338 seats in Lok Sabha and 73 seats in Rajya Sabha.
Ever since NDA came to power in 2014, they have gone from strength to strength. Barring Delhi and Bihar, where entire opposition united and fought against BJP, they have won Assembly elections in most other states. With strong organiztional skills of Amit Shah and directions from Narendra Modi, NDA believes it has a very good chance of winning the 2019 polls.

Third Front

Love them or Hate them but you can’t ignore them – this has been the story of Third Front. It’s not clear what would be the actual name of the Front coming into the 2019 Elections, but it is quite sure that there will be a front.
Currently, the most obvious choice to lead this front is the Janata Parivar. In 2015, Janata Dal (United), Janata Dal (Secular), Rashtriya Janata Dal, the Indian National Lok Dal, Samajwadi Party, and Samajwadi Janata Party (Rashtriya) came together to form the Janata Parivar to fight the Assembly Elections in Bihar in 2016. Within days, Samajwadi Party left the alliance, but Janata Praivar did quite well and was able to defeat Modi and BJP in Bihar.
This win has given a lot of hope to not just Janata Parivar but also to UPA. It is believed that if every other party which is not in NDA can join hands, they stand a strong chance of defeating Modi in 2019. BJP’s vote share has ranged from 30 to 40% mostly in each constituency so the primary work for Third Front parties is to make sure that most constituencies have a one to one contest so that they can target the remaining 60-70% votes.
Prime Minister Candidates 2019

Narendra Modi

Narendra Damodardas Modi is an Indian politician who is the 14th and current Prime Minister of India, in office since May 2014. He was the Chief Minister of Gujarat from 2001 to 2014, and is the Member of Parliament for Varanasi.

Rahul Gandhi

Rahul Gandhi; is an Indian politician, who serves as the Vice-President of the Indian National Congress party and the Chairperson of the Indian Youth Congress and the National Students Union of India.

Mamata Banerjee

Mamata Banerjee is an Indian politician who has been Chief Minister of West Bengal since 2011. She is the first woman to hold the office.

Nitish Kumar

Nitish Kumar is an Indian politician who has been Chief Minister of Bihar since February 2015. Previously he served as the Chief Minister of Bihar from 2005 to 2014.

Copyright 2017 India Elections Database | All Rights Reserved.