Andhra Pradesh Elections, Maps and Results

Andhra Pradesh Elections 2019

  1. Eighth largest state in India, Andhra Pradesh is situated in the South Eastern coast of India.
  2. Hyderabad is currently the rightful or de jure capital of Andhra Pradesh as well as Telangana.
  3. In due course, new Capital of Hyderabad will be Amaravati, a planned city located on the southern side of Krishna river in Guntur district.
  4. It covers an area of 162,968 km2 (62,922 sq mi).
  5. Tenth largest by population with 49,386,799 inhabitants (2011 Census).
  6. 974 Km of coastline.
  7. 13 Districts – 9 in Coastal Andhra and 4 in Rayalaseema. Coastal Andhra and Rayalseema regions are together known as Seemandhra.
  8. On 2nd June 2014, Andhra Pradesh was bifurcated as Telangana and Andhra Pradesh.

Andhra Pradesh was formed out of Madras state in 1953. Then in 1956, Telangana region from the Hyderabad state was also merged with the Andhra Pradesh State.

2014 General Elections marked the last election for united Andhra. Just a month after the polls, state was bifurcated into Andhra Pradesh and Telangana. Battle 2019 will be fought in the state for 25 seats with prime contenders being TDP and YSR Congress Party. As part of the National Democratic Alliance, TDP may join hands with BJP again to make it tougher for other parties.

Congress enjoyed an un-challenged rein in the state from 1951 to almost 1983. The party gave some top notch leaders to not just the state but also to the country. Neelam Sanjiva Reddy was the first Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh and went on to become the 6th and youngest-ever President of India. P. V. Narasimha Rao, the 9th Indian Prime Minister was also from the state.

On 29 March 1982 Telugu Desam Party (TDP) was formed by Nandamuri Taraka Rama Rao popularly known as NTR. 1984 saw the first loss by Congress in Lok Sabha Elections in the state. In 1980, Congress had done a clean sweep winning 41 seats of the total 42 but it all changed with NTR magic and TDP won 36 seats while Congress managed a meagre 6 seats.

1990’s saw the emergence of another popular leader in Andhra, Nara Chandrababu Naidu, who also served the longest term as Chief Minister of the state from 1995 to 2004. He also became the first CM of the new bifurcated Andhra in 2014.

Congress made a comeback in the 1989 elections and continued to win the next 3 elections as well till 1998. 1998 saw the formation of National Democratic Alliance and in 1999 TDP+BJP combine again swept the polls. But after every loss, Congress has come back stronger in the state and 2004 and 2009 again went to the Congress.

2009 was a year of loss for the Congress. YSR Congress Party was formed in 2009 after the death of then Congress Chief Minister Y. S. Rajashekhara Reddy in a helicopter crash. His son Y. S. Jaganmohan Reddy took the reigns of the party in 2011 and soon it was joined by most of the existing Congress leaders from Andhra. Congress loss was YSR Congress Party’s gain and they performed exceedingly well in 2012 by-elections. However, by 2014 their popularity dwindled which helped TDP make a comeback. As part of NDA, TDP+BJP won 17 out of the 25 seats while YSRCP won just 8 seats. TRS performed quite well with 11 seats but they are mainly based out of Telangana and are not expected to make a big difference in Andhra politics.

Andhra elections 2019 will be a referendum on how Chandrababu Naidu has done in the state. Congress is now an almost non-existant entity in the state, so they will try to form alliances with other parties and may even reach out to YSRCP. Praja Rajyam Party (PRP) which was formed in 2008 by Telugu Film Actor Chiranjeevi and did well in 2009 Assembly Polls has already murged with INC in 2011 but that did not help Congress in 2014 polls. TDP + BJP are almost certain to fight the polls together as part of NDA and going by the popularity of Modi it seems they are poised to in big in Andhra in 2019 elections.

You can have a look at our detailed election results from 1952 to till date here.

*1952 results are for Madras State and Hyderabad state which was later included in Andhra Pradesh state.

Andhra Pradesh Election Results 2014

TDP performed exceptionally well in 2014 Lok Sabha Polls and won 16 seats. As expected, TRS did quite well in the Telangana region and won 11 seats. YSRCP lost some of its core voter bases and ended with 9 seats but the biggest looser was Congress which won just 2 seats. Unless they somehow manage to get YSRCP leaders back in their party, it will be really tough for Congress to do any better in 2019 elections.

Voter Info
Candidate Summary
Election Results

Andhra Pradesh Lok Sabha Constituencies

Andhra Pradesh 2019 Election Constituencies

Andhra Pradesh will have 25 Lok Sabha Constituencies for the 2019 Elections. 4 constituencies are reserved for SC, 1 for ST and remaining 20 are general category seats. To have a detailed look at 2019 poll predictions, past election results and constituency maps, please click the links below:

1. Araku 2. Srikakulam 3. Vizianagaram 4. Visakhapatnam 5. Anakapalli 6. Kakinada 7. Amalapuram 8. Rajahmundry 9. Narsapuram 10. Eluru 11. Machilipatnam 12. Vijayawada 13. Guntur 14. Narasaraopet 15. Bapatla 16. Ongole 17. Nandyal 18. Kurnool 19. Anantapur 20. Hindupur 21. Kadapa 22. Nellore 23. Tirupati 24. Rajampet 25. Chittoor
Copyright 2017 India Elections Database | All Rights Reserved.