Bhagalpur Election Results, Constituency Map

Bhagalpur Lok Sabha Constituency Map
Bhagalpur Lok Sabha Constituency Map

Reservation General
Constituency No. 26
Current MP Shailesh Kumar Mandal
Party RJD
Elected Year 2014
State Bihar
Total Electors 1685339
Most Successful Party INC (7 times)

Bhagalpur Constituency Result and List of MPs

Bhagalpur is a city in the Bhagalpur district of Bihar and is situated on the southern banks of river Ganga. The city is known as the Silk City and is famous for its Tussar Silk and Bhagalpuri Saree.

The seat was represented by formed CM of Bihar, Bhagwat Jha Azad, who won 5 terms from this constituency. He is also the father of BJP MP and former cricketer Kirti Azad. Syed Shahnawaz Hussain won two terms from here but lost the 2014 elections.

Bhagalpur Election Results 2014

Bhagalpur election results in 2014 saw a very unexpected result. In a BJP wave fuelled by Narendra Modi’s popularity, one of the most well known faces of BJP in Bihar, Syed Shahnawaz Hussain, lost the elections by just over 9000 votes. Shahnawaz Hussain had lost elections in 2004 but won the by-polls to enter the Lok Sabha. He then won 2009 elections from Bhagalpur and his loss in 2014 and that too to a relatively unknown candidate in RJD was shocking to say the least.

Voter Info
Poll Summary
No. Of AC Segments 6
No Of Polling Station 1606
Electors 1685339
Avg. No Of Electors Per Poll Booth 1049
Nominations 21
Contestants 18
Forfeited Deposits 16
Polling Date 24-Apr-14
Counting Date 16-May-14
Declaration of Results 16-May-14
And The Winner Is...

Below is a list of candidates who contested from Bhagalpur constituency for the 2014 Parliamentary Election:

Bihar 2019 Election Constituencies

Bihar will have 40 Lok Sabha Constituencies for the 2019 Elections. 6 constituencies are reserved for Scheduled Castes, 0 for Scheduled Tribes and remaining 34 are General category seats. To have a detailed look at 2019 poll predictions, past election results and constituency maps, please click the links below:

1. Valmiki Nagar 2. Paschim Champaran 3. Purvi Champaran 4. Sheohar 5. Sitamarhi 6. Madhubani 7. Jhanjharpur 8. Supaul 9. Araria 10. Kishanganj 11. Katihar 12. Purnia 13. Madhepura 14. Darbhanga 15. Muzaffarpur 16. Vaishali 17. Gopalganj 18. Siwan 19. Maharajganj 20. Saran 21. Hajipur 22. Ujiarpur 23. Samastipur 24. Begusarai 25. Khagaria 26. Bhagalpur 27. Banka 28. Munger 29. Nalanda 30. Patna Sahib 31. Pataliputra 32. Arrah 33. Buxar 34. Sasaram 35. Karakat 36. Jahanabad 37. Aurangabad 38. Gaya 39. Nawada 40. Jamui
Copyright 2017 India Elections Database | All Rights Reserved.