Katihar Election Results, Constituency Map

Katihar Lok Sabha Constituency Map
Katihar Lok Sabha Constituency Map

Reservation General
Constituency No. 11
Current MP Tariq Anwar
Party NCP
Elected Year 2014
State Bihar
Total Electors 1446478
Most Successful Party INC (7 times)

Katihar Constituency Result and List of MPs

Katihar is a city in the Katihar district of Bihar. The place was well known for old Jute Mills which aren’t doing quite well now. Katihar is known as the The Gateway of North-East becuase most trains going from North to East India pass through Katihar.

Tariq Anwar has remained the face of Katihar whether he was in Congress or in Nationalist Congress Party. BJP’s Nikhil Kumar Choudhary won three consecutive terms from here from 1999 to 2009 but he lost the 2014 elections to Tariq Anwar. Since 1996 it has been a direct contest between Tariq Anwar and Nikhil K. Choudhary, except in 2009 when Harish Choudhary was fielded by NCP.

Katihar Election Results 2014

Katihar election results in 2014 saw a win for NCP, their only win in Bihar thanks to their leader Tariq Anwar. He was later projected as a possible Chief Minister candidate by Congress and NCP in 2016 Assembly Polls. Tariq Anwar won his 5th term from the constituency defeating three time MP Nikhil Kumar Choudhary of BJP.

Voter Info
Poll Summary
No. Of AC Segments 6
No Of Polling Station 1358
Electors 1446478
Avg. No Of Electors Per Poll Booth 1065
Nominations 22
Contestants 21
Forfeited Deposits 19
Polling Date 24-Apr-14
Counting Date 16-May-14
Declaration of Results 16-May-14
And The Winner Is...

Below is a list of candidates who contested from Katihar constituency for the 2014 Parliamentary Election:

Bihar 2019 Election Constituencies

Bihar will have 40 Lok Sabha Constituencies for the 2019 Elections. 6 constituencies are reserved for Scheduled Castes, 0 for Scheduled Tribes and remaining 34 are General category seats. To have a detailed look at 2019 poll predictions, past election results and constituency maps, please click the links below:

1. Valmiki Nagar 2. Paschim Champaran 3. Purvi Champaran 4. Sheohar 5. Sitamarhi 6. Madhubani 7. Jhanjharpur 8. Supaul 9. Araria 10. Kishanganj 11. Katihar 12. Purnia 13. Madhepura 14. Darbhanga 15. Muzaffarpur 16. Vaishali 17. Gopalganj 18. Siwan 19. Maharajganj 20. Saran 21. Hajipur 22. Ujiarpur 23. Samastipur 24. Begusarai 25. Khagaria 26. Bhagalpur 27. Banka 28. Munger 29. Nalanda 30. Patna Sahib 31. Pataliputra 32. Arrah 33. Buxar 34. Sasaram 35. Karakat 36. Jahanabad 37. Aurangabad 38. Gaya 39. Nawada 40. Jamui
Copyright 2017 India Elections Database | All Rights Reserved.