Sasaram Election Results, Constituency Map

Sasaram Lok Sabha Constituency Map
Sasaram Lok Sabha Constituency Map

Reservation Scheduled Castes
Constituency No. 34
Current MP Chhedi Paswan
Party BJP
Elected Year 2014
State Bihar
Total Electors 1607747
Most Successful Party INC (7 times)

Sasaram Constituency Result and List of MPs

Sasaram or Sahsaram is a city in the Rohtas district of Bihar.

Babu Jagjivan Ram, one of the biggest leaders of the Dalit community in India, contested from this constituency. He won 8 consecutive elections from 1952 to 1984. He was the Defence Minister of India during the Indo-Pak war of 1971 and also served as the 4th Deputy Prime Minister of India.

Meira Kumar, daughter of Jagjivan Ram, took over the constituency after Babu Jagjivan Ram died in 1986 but she lost to Chhedi Paswan of Janata Dal. Muni Lall of BJP defeated Chhedi Paswan in 1996 and then won three consecutive terms till 1999. Meira Kumar managed to win from this constituency in 2004 and 2009 and she served as the First Woman Speaker of the Lok Sabha from 2009 to 2014. However, she was defeated in 2014 once again by Chhedi Paswan who contested on a BJP ticket after defecting from JD(U).

Sasaram Election Results 2014

Sasaram election results in 2014 saw a win for BJP. Chhedi Paswan defeated Congress candidate and two term MP from here Meira Kumar. Chhedi Paswan had earlier defeated Meira Kumar from this constituency in 1989 and 1991 as well.

Voter Info
Poll Summary
No. Of AC Segments 6
No Of Polling Station 1732
Electors 1607747
Avg. No Of Electors Per Poll Booth 928
Nominations 12
Contestants 11
Forfeited Deposits 9
Polling Date 10-Apr-14
Counting Date 16-May-14
Declaration of Results 16-May-14
And The Winner Is...

Below is a list of candidates who contested from Sasaram constituency for the 2014 Parliamentary Election:

Bihar 2019 Election Constituencies

Bihar will have 40 Lok Sabha Constituencies for the 2019 Elections. 6 constituencies are reserved for Scheduled Castes, 0 for Scheduled Tribes and remaining 34 are General category seats. To have a detailed look at 2019 poll predictions, past election results and constituency maps, please click the links below:

1. Valmiki Nagar 2. Paschim Champaran 3. Purvi Champaran 4. Sheohar 5. Sitamarhi 6. Madhubani 7. Jhanjharpur 8. Supaul 9. Araria 10. Kishanganj 11. Katihar 12. Purnia 13. Madhepura 14. Darbhanga 15. Muzaffarpur 16. Vaishali 17. Gopalganj 18. Siwan 19. Maharajganj 20. Saran 21. Hajipur 22. Ujiarpur 23. Samastipur 24. Begusarai 25. Khagaria 26. Bhagalpur 27. Banka 28. Munger 29. Nalanda 30. Patna Sahib 31. Pataliputra 32. Arrah 33. Buxar 34. Sasaram 35. Karakat 36. Jahanabad 37. Aurangabad 38. Gaya 39. Nawada 40. Jamui
Copyright 2017 India Elections Database | All Rights Reserved.