Siwan Election Results, Constituency Map

Siwan Lok Sabha Constituency Map
Siwan Lok Sabha Constituency Map

Reservation General
Constituency No. 18
Current MP Om Prakash Yadav
Party BJP
Elected Year 2014
State Bihar
Total Electors 1563860
Most Successful Party INC (6 times)

Siwan Constituency Result and List of MPs

Siwan is a city in the Siwan district of Bihar. Dr. Rajendra Prasad, the First President of India, belonged from Siwan.

The constituency has been represented four times by Mohammad Shahbuddin, who is currently in jail serving a life sentence. He won his first term in 1996 on a Janata Dal ticket and has won the remaining three terms on a RJD ticket. However, after multiple convictions he was debarred from contesting the elections. RJD decided to then field his wife Hena Shahab from Siwan constituency but she has lost both 2009 as well as 2014 elections to Om Prakash Yadav.

BJP first won from here in 1989 when senior leader Janardan Tiwaari defeated Congress candidate. But they did not win a single election after that till they won again in 2014. Congress last won from this constituency way back in 1984.

Siwan Election Results 2014

Siwan election results in 2014 saw BJP candidate Om Prakash Yadav winning his second term from here. He defeated Hena Shahab who is the wife of Mohammad Shahbuddin. This win for BJP from Siwan came after a gap of almost 25 years.

Voter Info
Poll Summary
No. Of AC Segments 6
No Of Polling Station 1461
Electors 1563860
Avg. No Of Electors Per Poll Booth 1070
Nominations 15
Contestants 13
Forfeited Deposits 11
Polling Date 12-May-14
Counting Date 16-May-14
Declaration of Results 16-May-14
And The Winner Is...

Below is a list of candidates who contested from Siwan constituency for the 2014 Parliamentary Election:

Bihar 2019 Election Constituencies

Bihar will have 40 Lok Sabha Constituencies for the 2019 Elections. 6 constituencies are reserved for Scheduled Castes, 0 for Scheduled Tribes and remaining 34 are General category seats. To have a detailed look at 2019 poll predictions, past election results and constituency maps, please click the links below:

1. Valmiki Nagar 2. Paschim Champaran 3. Purvi Champaran 4. Sheohar 5. Sitamarhi 6. Madhubani 7. Jhanjharpur 8. Supaul 9. Araria 10. Kishanganj 11. Katihar 12. Purnia 13. Madhepura 14. Darbhanga 15. Muzaffarpur 16. Vaishali 17. Gopalganj 18. Siwan 19. Maharajganj 20. Saran 21. Hajipur 22. Ujiarpur 23. Samastipur 24. Begusarai 25. Khagaria 26. Bhagalpur 27. Banka 28. Munger 29. Nalanda 30. Patna Sahib 31. Pataliputra 32. Arrah 33. Buxar 34. Sasaram 35. Karakat 36. Jahanabad 37. Aurangabad 38. Gaya 39. Nawada 40. Jamui
Copyright 2017 India Elections Database | All Rights Reserved.