Durg Election Results, Constituency Map

Durg Lok Sabha Constituency Map
Durg Lok Sabha Constituency Map

Reservation General
Constituency No. 7
Current MP Tamradhwaj Sahu
Party BJP
Elected Year 2014
State Chhattisgarh
Total Electors 1858922
Most Successful Party BJP (2 times)

Durg Constituency Result and List of MPs

Durg is a city in the Durg District of Chhattisgarh. Durg is one of the most important and developed cities of Chhattisgarh, Bhilai Steel Plant situated in Bhilai near Durg is India’s first and main producer of steel rails.

One of the most important leaders from this constituency was Chandulal Chandrakar who won 5 terms from Durg. He tried hard in late 1990’s for the creation of Chhattisgarh.

BJP won 5 consecutive elections in Durg from 1996 to 2009, four of which were won by Tara Chand Sahu. Just before the 2009 Lok Sabha elections, Tara Chand Sahu was expelled by BJP for anti-party activities. He founded Chhattisgarh Swabhiman Manch (CSM) and was trying to unite non-BJP and non-Congress parties to open up a third front in the state which has so far seen only direct contests between BJP and Congress. He fought the 2009 elections as an Independent candidate and although he came third, he lost by just 22 thousand votes.

Chhattisgarh was carved out of Madhya Pradesh in 2000 and has undergone 3 Lok Sabha elections. The 1952 – 1999 Lok Sabha results below are for Durg constituency when it was part of Madhya Pradesh and from 2004 – 2014 results are from when Durg became a part of Chhattisgarh.

Durg Election Results 2014

Durg election results in 2014 saw a victory for the Congress candidate Tamradhwaj Sahu. BJP won 10 out of 11 seats in Chhattisgarh in 2014 elections and Durg is the only constituency that it lost to Congress.

Voter Info
Poll Summary
No. Of AC Segments 8
No Of Polling Station 1933
Electors 1858922
Avg. No Of Electors Per Poll Booth 962
Nominations 34
Contestants 26
Forfeited Deposits 24
Polling Date 24-Apr-14
Counting Date 16-May-14
Declaration of Results 16-May-14
And The Winner Is...

Below is a list of candidates who contested from Durg constituency for the 2014 Parliamentary Election:

Chhattisgarh 2019 Parliamentary Election Constituencies

Chhattisgarh will have 11 Lok Sabha Constituencies for the 2019 Elections. 4 constituencies are reserved for Scheduled Tribes, 1 for Scheduled Castes and remaining 6 are General category seats. To have a detailed look at 2019 poll predictions, past election results and constituency maps, please click the links below:

1. Sarguja 2. Raigarh 3. Janjgir Champa 4. Korba 5. Bilaspur 6. Rajnandgaon 7. Durg 8. Raipur 9. Mahasamund 10. Bastar 11. Kanker
Copyright 2017 India Elections Database | All Rights Reserved.