Mahasamund Election Results, Constituency Map

Mahasamund Lok Sabha Constituency Map
Mahasamund Lok Sabha Constituency Map

Reservation General
Constituency No. 9
Current MP Chandu Lal Sahu
Party BJP
Elected Year 2014
State Chhattisgarh
Total Electors 1516177
Most Successful Party BJP (2 times)

Mahasamund Constituency Result and List of MPs

Mahasamund is a city in the Mahasamund District of Chhattisgarh. This happens to be the constituency which kickstarted the political career of veteran Congress leader Vidya Charan Shukla. In his 9 terms as an MP, Vidya Charan Shukla won six terms from Mahasamund including his first three. In 2004 when he left Congress to join BJP, he returned to this constituency but lost to Ajit Jogi of Congress.

Chhattisgarh was carved out of Madhya Pradesh in 2000 and has undergone 3 Lok Sabha elections. The 1952 – 1999 Lok Sabha results below are for Mahasamund constituency when it was part of Madhya Pradesh and from 2004 – 2014 results are from when Mahasamund became a part of Chhattisgarh.

Mahasamund Election Results 2014

Mahasamund election results in 2014 saw a second term victory for BJP’s Chandu Lal Sahu. He defeated senior Congress leader Ajit Jogi by an extremely narrow margin of just 1217 votes. The 2014 elections here were quite intersting. There were 11 independent candidates named as Chandu Lal Sahu who filed nominations to contest from here. Although never confirmed, it was said that Ajit Jogi pplanted these candidates to confuse voters!

Voter Info
Poll Summary
No. Of AC Segments 8
No Of Polling Station 1937
Electors 1516177
Avg. No Of Electors Per Poll Booth 783
Nominations 38
Contestants 27
Forfeited Deposits 25
Polling Date 17-Apr-14
Counting Date 16-May-14
Declaration of Results 16-May-14
And The Winner Is...

Below is a list of candidates who contested from Mahasamund constituency for the 2014 Parliamentary Election:

Chhattisgarh 2019 Parliamentary Election Constituencies

Chhattisgarh will have 11 Lok Sabha Constituencies for the 2019 Elections. 4 constituencies are reserved for Scheduled Tribes, 1 for Scheduled Castes and remaining 6 are General category seats. To have a detailed look at 2019 poll predictions, past election results and constituency maps, please click the links below:

1. Sarguja 2. Raigarh 3. Janjgir Champa 4. Korba 5. Bilaspur 6. Rajnandgaon 7. Durg 8. Raipur 9. Mahasamund 10. Bastar 11. Kanker
Copyright 2017 India Elections Database | All Rights Reserved.