Raipur Election Results, Constituency Map

Raipur Lok Sabha Constituency Map
Raipur Lok Sabha Constituency Map

Reservation General
Constituency No. 8
Current MP Ramesh Bais
Party BJP
Elected Year 2014
State Chhattisgarh
Total Electors 1904460
Most Successful Party BJP (3 times)

Raipur Constituency Result and List of MPs

Raipur is a city in the Raipur District and is the largest city and capital of Chhattisgarh. There were two seats for the constituency in 1952 and 1957 so the First and Second candidate were both winners.

Ramesh Bais of BJP has won 7 terms from Raipur in last 8 elections. He lost only in 1991 and has now won six consecutive terms from 1996 to 2014. Senior Congress leader and close associate of Indira Gandhi, Vidya Charan Shukla, won two terms from this constituency.

Chhattisgarh was carved out of Madhya Pradesh in 2000 and has undergone 3 Lok Sabha elections. The 1952 – 1999 Lok Sabha results below are for Raipur constituency when it was part of Madhya Pradesh and from 2004 – 2014 results are from when Raipur became a part of Chhattisgarh.

Raipur Election Results 2014

Raipur election results in 2014 saw another victory for Ramesh Bais of BJP. He defeated Congress candidate by over 1.7 lakh votes to win his 6th consecutive term from here.

A huge number of candidates contested from Raipur. 47 people filed their nominations off which 36 contested. 34 lost their deposits.

Voter Info
Poll Summary
No. Of AC Segments 8
No Of Polling Station 2061
Electors 1904460
Avg. No Of Electors Per Poll Booth 924
Nominations 47
Contestants 36
Forfeited Deposits 34
Polling Date 24-Apr-14
Counting Date 16-May-14
Declaration of Results 16-May-14
And The Winner Is...

Below is a list of candidates who contested from Raipur constituency for the 2014 Parliamentary Election:

Chhattisgarh 2019 Parliamentary Election Constituencies

Chhattisgarh will have 11 Lok Sabha Constituencies for the 2019 Elections. 4 constituencies are reserved for Scheduled Tribes, 1 for Scheduled Castes and remaining 6 are General category seats. To have a detailed look at 2019 poll predictions, past election results and constituency maps, please click the links below:

1. Sarguja 2. Raigarh 3. Janjgir Champa 4. Korba 5. Bilaspur 6. Rajnandgaon 7. Durg 8. Raipur 9. Mahasamund 10. Bastar 11. Kanker
Copyright 2017 India Elections Database | All Rights Reserved.