Goa Elections, Maps and Results

Constituency Map for Goa Elections 2019

  1. Goa is a state situated along the Konkan coast of Western India.
  2. It is the smallest state with an area of 3702 sq km and 4th smallest in terms of population in India.
  3. This is the state with the highest GDP capital in India.
  4. Capital city is Panaji while Vasco da Gama is its largest city. Goa used to be a Portugese province and the cultural influence can still be felt in the state.
  5. One of the major tourist destinations in India for both domestic as well as International tourists.
  6. Goa’s seven major rivers are the Zuari, Mandovi, Terekhol, Chapora, Galgibag, Kumbarjua canal, Talpona and the Sal.
  7. It has 2 districts each representing a seat in Lok Sabha, 40 seats in State Assembly and 1 seat in Rajya Sabha.
  8. The major political parties are BJP and Congress.

Goa Lok Sabha Election Results aand Past History

Goa remained a Portugese territory even after India got its Independence and it was only after Operation Vijay, carried out by the army in 1961, that the annexation of Goa, Daman and Diu happened. Goa, Daman And Diu was created as a single Union Territory and on 30th May 1987, Goa was made the 25th state of India. Although it is the smallest state in India, politics in Goa has never been simple and has mostly seen a straight fight between top two parties. Political in-fighting, complex religious parameters, caste and social status equations have affected Goan Politics everytime.

The first two decades of Goan politics was dominated by two regional parties: Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) and the United Goans Party (UGP). MGP consisted of leaders from mainly the poorer half of the Goan society and was in favour of Goa merging with Maharashtra state. On the other hand UGP was formed by Catholics of Goa and upper-caste Hindus who wanted to protect Goa’s unique identity. The United Goans Party was formed by merging Goencho Pokx of Jack Sequeira, the Partido Indiano of Alvsaro Loyola de Furtado, the Goa National union of J M Desouza and United Fronts of Goans and Democratic Party.

In the first state elections held in Goa, MGP won 16 out of 30 seats and formed the Govt. Goa Opinion Poll was held on 16th Jan 1967 to decide if Goa should be merged with Maharashtrra or not and the people of Goa voted against the merger. MGP however continued to be a popular party in Goa and remained in power for almost two decades till 1979. Dayanand Bandodkar was the first Chief Minister of Goa and after his death in 1973, his daughter Shashikala Kakodkar took over as CM. Shashikala Kakodkar died in 2016 but still remains one of the most famous politicians of the state. Due to defection by three members of MGP, Shashikala Kakodkar’s Govt fell in 1979 and President’s rule was imposed in Goa. Subsequently, Shashikala Kakodkar joined Congress which led to the decline of MGP and emergence of Congress as a strong force in Goa.

UGP was never able to form a Govt in Goa. In-fighting first led to a split in the party in 1967 which created UGP(N) and UGP(S). UGP(S) won one seat each in 1967 and 1971 Parliamentary elections. But the party split again in 1977 and finally the entire party merged with the Congress in 1980s. UGP was revived by former Congress Minister Babush Monteserrate in Dec 2016 but if it will make any impact in 2019 elections is yet to be seen.

With virtual support from both UGP as well as MGP, Congress enjoyed un-opposed success in the state in the 80’s and won both Lok Sabha as well as State Elections easily.

1994 prooved to be the year of a strategic blunder by MGP. It allied with BJP who made heavy inroads in the party’s Hindu votebank. After 1994 polls, BJP gained strength while MGP was not even able to reach double digits in Goa. By 1999, BJP had become the dominant party in Goa ready to take on the Congress. BJP won both Lok Sabha seats in 1999, a feat it repeated in 2014 elections.

MGP allied with Congress in the first decade of 2000 but again joined hands with BJP in 2012 and continues to be a part of the NDA alliance in the state.

PC Constituency\Year 1967 1971 1977 1980 1984 1989 1991 1996 1998 1999 2004 2009 2014
1 North Goa                       BJP BJP
2 South Goa                       INC BJP

– Goa, Daman and Diu was a single Union Territory till 1987, after which Goa was made a state.
– Panaji and Marmugao constituencies were removed after the delimitation act was implemented in 2008.


Goa Election Results 2014

2014 Goa election results saw BJP winning both the North and South Goa constituencies. Shripad Yasso Naik won his 4th term as MP from the state by winning the North Goa constituency while Adv. Narendra Keshav Sawaikar won his first term from the South Goa constituency.

Voter Info
Candidate Summary

19 candidates took part in the 2014 Goa elections and almost 80% lost their deposits! BJP candidate Shripad Yasso Naik got the highest votes (237903), lowest votes (530) were polled by Adv. Jawahar Dias of GOA party.

    Men Woman
General Seats 2 17 2
SC Seats
ST Seats
Election Results

Goa 2019 Parliamentary Election Constituencies

Goa will have 2 Lok Sabha Constituencies for the 2019 Elections. Both constituencies belong to the General category seats. To have a detailed look at 2019 Goa poll predictions, past election results and Goa constituency maps, please click the links below:

1. North Goa 2. South Goa
Copyright 2017 India Elections Database | All Rights Reserved.