State Assembly

Vidhan Sabha: The State Assembly

The legislative state assembly is formed of representatives directly chosen by people of that state, with the majority party forming the Govt and choosing its Chief Minister. The lower house chosen by people directly is known as the legislative Assembly or the Vidhan Sabha and the upper house is called the Legislative Council or the Vidhan Parishad. So in way, in limits of State Jurisdiction, Vidhan Sabha is like the Lok Sabha and Vidhan Parishad is like the Rajya Sabha.

Elections take place every 5 years unless the Govt has lost a vote of confidence or has been dissolved. Representatives chosen by the people for the Vidhan Sabha are known as Members of Legislative Assembly or MLA’s. Each district is divided into several assembly constituencies and each assembly constituency will have one MLA to represent it.

According to the Constitution of India, maximum members of a Vidhan Sabha can be 500 and minimum is 60. However in case of certain smaller states like Goa, Sikkim, Mizoram and UT Puducherry, through an Act of Parliament, the minimum strength has been changed to go below 60. The Governor also has the power to nominate 1 member from the Angle Indian community if they have not be represented adequately in the State Assembly. A Speaker and Deputy Speaker is chosen from the elected members for the Vidhan Sabha while a Chairman and Deputy Chairman is chosen for Vidhan Parishad.

Vidhan Parishad is available only for 7 states in India as only these states follow the bicameral legislature. They are Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Jammu and Kashmir, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Telangana and Uttar Pradesh. Members of a Vidhan Parishad are known as Member of the Legislative Council or MLC. MLC’s serve a 6 year term with one-third members retiring every 2 years. They are chosen directly by local bodies like Municipality, Legislative Assemblies, Governor as well as graduates and teachers residing in the state for more than 3 years. The maximum size of a Legislative Council can not be more than one third of Legislative Assembly and minimum needs to be 40, except for Jammu and Kashmir where the minimum strength is 36.

States won by Political Parties:

BJP led NDA has rapidly moved in the past few years to gain majority control over states across India.

States Under Political Parties

States Ruled by Political Parties:

BJP led NDA has rapidly moved in the past few years to gain majority control over states across India. Currently NDA rules over 18 states while UPA rules over just 5.

Upcoming Assembly Elections in 2017:

Gujarat Assembly Election 2017: Gujarat is gearing up for its 14th State Electtions to be held in the 4th quarter of 2017. BJP has ruled over Gujarat for three consecutive terms and this time BJP goes to polls without NArendra Modi as the CM. Will this affect the results?

Himachal Pradesh Assembly Election 2017: In the last elections, all news channels and Exit Polls suggested a close finish, but eventually Congress won comfortably. With several corrupttion cases haunting them, it’d be tough for Congress to regain the state.

Recent State Elections

Political Parties Ruling States in 2017

Upcoming State  Elections

Current State Assemblies Across India:

Copyright 2017 India Elections Database | All Rights Reserved.